ApolloStation

I finally got an organelle (a birthday present from my wife!).
This is my first attempt at a multi-page patch that can generate multiple synchronized parts (kinda a mini workstation/groovebox).
It’s a wavetable synth with sequencer and arpeggiator, preset based drum machine, and multifx (using FX 13):
https://patchstorage.com/apollostation/

I really like the new combo patch syle, and I want to make something that would be easy to swap different synths/sequencers/effect etc.
My subpatches are organized a bit different, they take a page number as a parameter and they will automatically hook up to the knobs for that page. Then the actual stuff you want to route between modules can be hooked up directly.

I also modified the paging code so that after a page change the knobs will start responding either if it passes through the current value, or moves 10%, which I find a bit more intuitive to use.

One issue I found was that reading/writing to the usb drive would often cause buffer underruns and stuttering. I put a block at the output to mute everything before I load, which seems to get rid of the stuttering (the dropout is still noticeable though).

Right now the sequencer has some quirks, and I think I’ll eventually try to write an efficient /robust sequencer external that can things like have multiple tracks, quantization and tempo scaling (after I finish a few other patches).

6 Likes

i can’t wait to try this. : )

congratulations, and nice patch.

I agree the new C&G patch style is a great improvement.

USB read/write - audio glitches , yeah that’s the nature of the beast unless these are pushed off to different thread which is scheduled with low priority.
( as IO is very slow compared to audio rates)
Even then care still has to be taken, as there’s only one core.

That all said I’m sure there must be pure data external that does this , as it’s a common Pd issue ( as it’s single threaded) … eg I think soundfiler (?) does this