DIY Raspberry Pi organelle

I love the versatility of the organelle, yet I am a broke college student who can’t afford one. however, I do have a raspberry pi and a bit of time on my hands. I see that the organelle MCU and UI are open source, I was wondering if it is at all possible to incorporate those into the raspberry pi to make my own Organelle. Has anyone had success doing this? I’ve seen a few videos of people emulating the organelle with pure data on a raspberry pi but I like the compact nature of the organelle with their OLED screen. My main goal is just to make a small box some potentiometers and an OLED screen along with midi support for a small controller as well as audio inputs so I could also use it as a guitar effects box. Kind of like an all in one synth/guitar pedal. I know this is all possible with the organelle, but unfortunately, I simply can’t afford one. one day I will, but until then, my only option is to build my own.

This doesn’t really answer the question. But have you considered going through affirm on reverb.com? That’s what I did. Only paid around $45 a month. Super simple and easy.

1 Like

I was thinking about doing the same thing and end up buying the Organelle. I did a lot of research and found out, that the hardest thing would be programming it all (RPi + sound card + knobs etc. - it’s not just simple copying the code). But if you have knowledge and skills - go for it. I’ll be happy to hear any news about your progress, because the more I knew about building and programming process, the less I wanted to start building.

i’d imagine programming the razpi for what you’d want it to do would be about as hard as writing pure data patches as is.
but the plus is that the organelle allows you to mooch great patches for free and not have to be all programmer about it.
i would never suggest you get a credit line ever to get something as silly as the organelle. (not that i haven’t purchased an sp1200 on my discover card).