Looking for some help with "Pure Data"

Are there any good tutorials online for Pure Data? Or better yet does anyone on here have any advice to help me with it? I know how to access the sounds so that they can be edited but I have no clue on how to make the sounds remotely different or better yet create my own. I’m new to this.

Thanks!

1 Like

I will write out a few things for you, and hopefully steer you in the right direction :slight_smile:

1. The FLOSS Manual is a reference manual for every object, made by the people who work on Pure Data, and offers a lot of raw knowledge. It does not offer a good educational path to learning Pd, however.
    https://flossmanuals.net/pure-data/

2. The Johannes Kriedler tutorial for Pure Data is more educational than the FLOSS Manual. The FLOSS Manual is like a big reference guide, the Kriedler tutorial is like a “Pure Data 101” class from college
    http://www.pd-tutorial.com/

3. Understanding DSP, apart from strictly musical applications, will do a lot to understand the theory. Richard G. Lyons’ “Understanding Digital Signal Processing” is a great book for that. At its heart, Pure Data is the same processes as how cell phone towers, sonar and other such things operate - its all DSP. Learning DSP is not necessary, and this Lyons book is a very boring read (although the best intro DSP book there is), but getting through it made learning Pd and Max/MSP a breeze and made me feel more sure of the concepts.