Mod Wheel Control?

Hi Folks…I’ve been playing with my Organelle for a few months but rarely hook it up to an external midi controller. I just noticed that the mod wheel and pitch bend don’t seem to work on even a basic patch like Analog Style or Basic Poly. How would one go about implementing that? Is that a Mother patch issue, individual for each patch or both? Thanks.

I’m no expert but I think you are looking for the [bendin] object.

12%20PM

Thats Pitch Bend !

Hmmm…PD / MIDI gurus?

[ctlin 1]?

It would be cool to map the mod wheel as an extra knob!

Full marks! [ctlin 1] for omni (any channel) or [ctlin 1 x] for a specific channel where x = channel. The leftmost outlet is the modwheel value.

1 Like

OK, thanks all. I forgot to mention that I’m a complete novice pd programmer, not a programmer at all actually, but I do understand most standard synth architecture. I’m guessing that the mother patch has to be told to recognize pitchbend and modulation messages and then the individual patch, for example Basic Poly, needs to be told what to do with that info. Is that in the ballpark? I think modding other people’s patches is beyond me at this point but I really appreciate you getting back to me. I’m just surprised that these standard controllers are not written in to more patches.

You don’t need to change the mother patch, unless you want to, for example, use your mod wheel instead of one of the knobs which I don’t think is the case here.

So what you need to do is add [ctlin 1] to the patch in question and choose a parameter to assign it to. I’m away from my Organelle just now but could post an example later to illustrate.

By the way, in most user cases you should never have to edit the mother patch.

on my Kontrol series patches you can midi learn the mod wheel … hmm should add PB if I didn’t already :).

Will Kontrol ever be rolled out for others to adopt if they want to?