Turning off Input Monitoring (because feedback)

Hi C&G Team and others –

Thrilled with my new Organelle M! I want to modify some existing patches for easier live use with the built-in microphone and built-in speaker together. So I need to turn off input monitoring, to avoid feedback. I’m a novice with PD, but want to learn more.

Can you please explain how I would change a patch to avoid feedback?

I suppose another way of doing this would be to mute the speaker output while the mic is on – much like my Kaleidoloop does. Any advice greatly appreciated!

1 Like

The easy thing to do is switch the input to Line In using the mic / line selector switch on the back.

Otherwise this depends on what patch you are referring to. There is no global input monitoring setting, it is up to the patch designer. Some patches have monitoring always on (look for a [r~ inL] connected to a [throw~ outL] in the patch), some use the input but don’t have any monitoring, some have monitoring as an option, others let you control monitor level with a knob. so it really depends on the patch. is there a specific one you are looking at?

Thanks! I’m hope to use the Organelle for live processing of acoustic instruments that I’m playing, so flipping the switch on and off each time isn’t the solution for me.

I don’t have specific patches in mind, because I’m just starting to make a plan for this setup. But, for instance, imagine I am playing a saxophone, and want to live sample myself playing into Segmenti, while controlling the “notes” with a Keith McMillen MIDI floor foot pad controller. I’d want to use an Aux pedal to turn sampling on and off, so I would need to mute input monitoring at all times. Is there a simple way of just deleting the monitoring element?

My other goal is to design a patch that’s basically a bunch of Kaleidoloops put together. I’m hoping to find someone who is more skilled who can help me assemble some of these custom patches… will post that as a new topic too!