EYESY running ETC Modes

Hello, i’m new in the EYESY world.
I thought EYESY was an upgrade and a replacement of ETC.

But i cant run any ETC modes form patch storage into EYESY.

Can somebody explain me what we have to modify in the PY files to make it working?

Other question why is not much news, évolutions ( Lua engine firmware ) or more modes concerning EYESY?
Looks like this project is not evolving too much since 1 year…

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

To get most modes working with HDMI output (see note below), there is one addition and one change to the code.

Addition: You will have to add the following line to the beginning of the ‘draw’ loop:

etc.color_picker_bg(etc.knob5)

…this line needs to go after the global variable declaration (if applicable). For example:

def draw(screen, etc):
    global count, y
    etc.color_picker_bg(etc.knob5)

Change: Any instance of:

etc.color_picker()

…needs to be changed to include your knob of choice. Usually with ETC, this is would be Knob4:

etc.color_picker(etc.knob4)

Here’s an example of a complete line of code (though ‘color’ may not always be used as variable name. It could be ‘col’ or ‘c’ or something else altogether…)

color = etc.color_picker(etc.knob4)

NOTE: The ETC modes are likely coded only for HDMI 1280x720 resolution. This means that there are some constants included in a ETC mode’s code like ‘360’ (for the center of the y-axis (720 ÷ 2)).

The EYESY python modes are coded to be able to switch between HDMI 1280x720 and Composite NTSC/PAL resolutions from one boot up to the next, so constants like ‘360’ will not be updated when the resolutions change. EYESY modes have constants coded a little differently. This is done with etc.xres and etc.yres For example:
ETC Code:

x = int(etc.knob1*1280)
y = int(etc.knob2*etc.720)

…becomes EYESY Code:

x = int(etc.knob1*etc.xres)
y = int(etc.knob2*etc.yres)