Basic questions about Organelle as a Raspbian computer

Sorry for the dumb questions, I’m completely new to Organelle. I’ve searched around the web and this forum but I couldn’t find clear information to answer myself my questions.

• Can Organelle be used as a normal Rasberry Pi with Raspian? I.e. can I access its shell and install / build additional softwares?
  • If yes, I suppose I can use it to execute my own applications. In particular it’s a Go based websocket server of myself that bridges a browser app with OSC target servers.
  • Can the USB port be used for keyboar / mouse devices. Basically making Organelle work as a normal computer when coupled with an HDMI monitor

Thanks!

I’ve found partial answers inside the official manual, but the main question remains: install, compile and run personal applications, is it fine to do with Organelle?

yes, you can install extra stuff and you can even still use the integrated keyboard and knobs.

Thanks @Servandob. Sorry for asking further clarifications but I want to avoid spending (quite an amount of) money for something that doesn’t do my job. Can you confirm that the following use cases are supported?

• mouse and keyboard input + hdmi screen to use the Organelle as a nornal Pi4.
  • run server apps using network sockets over the integrated wifi iface

Thanks again!

Hej Gio.

Organelle-M uses a Cm3 so it behaves (kind of) like a Pi3, not at all like a pi4. also the Cm4 is not pin compatible with the cm3 so a hardware upgrade will not be possible.
If you don’t have intentions to make music with the organelle, you will get more performance for less $ from something like a r pi 400…
Also consider that the raspbian running in Organelle-M has been tweaked & optimized for audio purposes so you will have to do “extra” work to undo all those changes .