A community effort to update the Eyesy to Python 3

I’ve been programming for a few years but getting starting on a project like this is a bit over my head at moment and I’d like to contribute as much as I can to learn. I feel like if the Eyesy ran python 3.11+ it would be easier to program on and there would be so many more libraries available to use to make even more interesting things. I think it could also be a cool learning tool for newer programmers that way too. I emailed C&G a while ago and they got back to me within the last few weeks or so saying it’s basically on the back burner to do, so I wanted to come here then to say we as a community could maybe do it then. Would anyone be interested in trying to work together on this?

1 Like

Although this would be way outside of my skillset, I commend anyone trying to keep the Eyesy alive. Hopefully someone can help with you with this.

Personally, I think the oF/Lua fork being moved forwards would be a better use of any remaining development resources that Critter & Guitari are willing to throw at it, but a certain amount of radio silence regarding active development leads me to worry that pretty much all further Eyesy development might be on an indefinite back-burner. I hope I’m wrong.

I’ve never tried oF/Lua, how are these to program in? Is it easy to test out how it would be in an IDE and then just copy/paste it into the eyesy later? I feel like I don’t see much about the oF/Lua side of it

According to others it’s an easier language, but I’m not really a coder and can’t answer your question, soz. I am just interested in the “prettier” (more complex, 3D) imagery that can be produced.

Here’s a thread on here about it, there’s a couple of youtube videos in here showing some of the output:

I gave up with it pretty rapidly as it never got the midi features I would have needed to work in my setup, which is disappointing. Might have got a bit more stuck in with it otherwise.