ETC memory best practices

Loaded some of my own PNG images to ITC over the weekend and my intention was to see how far I could go with fiel sizes and resolution. I was successful in getting memory to hit 101%!! So, naturally I need to scale back a bit. But I was wondering… it seems in the original image mode patches, the image files are duplicated across many patches. Total newb to Pygame, but its this necessary? Is it possible to haver one single ‘images’ folder and point the patch to it?
Any other suggestions for managing memory?

It would be possible to have the images in a central location, but each mode would still load them into memory on their own, so the memory usage would be the same. To share those images in memory among modes is more complicated, and might involve hacking the underlying system. There is the option of reading images right from disk and blitting them to the screen, this approach would save memory because they are not loaded into RAM…

So, just to confirm - the ITC loads all modes into RAM at start up?

yep, they all get loaded into RAM memory.

Thank you! This idea of “reading images right from disk and blitting them to the screen” - is this a work in progress? :wink:
I would use smaller sized files for this, and load the full 1280x720 images into ram. Just starting to get my Pygame chops…

hmm, looks like there isn’t a specific way to stream from disk, you still have to load it into a variable, but the difference would be instead of loading many images into an array in the setup() section of the mode, it could just load them as it needed in draw() :

img = pygame.image.load('first-image.png')
screen.blit(img,(0,0))
# replace img with new image
img = pygame.image.load('second-image.png')
screen.blit(img,(100,100))

so this would draw 2 images on the screen, but only require memory for one.

1 Like

Do you know yet if there is any processing performance impact from this method?