Expression pedal

Just looking to hook up an expression pedal to some basic synth sounds. My idea would be to have the expression pedal trigger for example the vibrato in ‘Basic Poly’ or the modulation in ‘Nori Sampler’.

Any ideas?
(I’m not a programmer)

1 Like

I’m also interested if there is a simple way this can be explained (both for patches and modules). Basically just how to attach an expression pedal input to an existing “knob” parameter.

I’ve been starting to learn pure data, and tried to look at some patches where an expression pedal controls parameters, but I imagine it would be a while before I can figure this out on my own. Any help much appreciated! I’ll upload the patches when done as I imagine they might be useful to users not (yet) diving into pd. Thanks!

non-orac patches…
simply feed [r exp] into the same input as [r knob1] (or whatever)
this works because knob output is 0…1 and so is expression output.

note… this will have a few quirks if you try to use the knob and pedal at same time.
(you could do something like sum them if you want to combine their input)

orac modules
that’s actually more difficult… as modules are not looking at the knobs, rather parameters.
and the some parameters are ranged (e.g cutoff might be 1hz to 1khz), so you have to scale the exp input by the parameter range.
I think for the future it would perhaps be best if the expression pedal was seen as a modulation source, so could be within the Orac system - that way any user could map it to whatever they want, rather than the module design fixing its mapping.

2 Likes

This was fun to make, fun to use, fun all around!
The exp pedal input is tied to decay, tone, and overall volume at the same time.
https://patchstorage.com/arp-synth-exp/

Thanks to C&G @oweno and @chrisk for making such great and well designed patches like this one. I really take no credit for this as it’s just a simple mod to the C&G Arpeggio Synth patch. Special thanks to @thetechnobear.