Introduction and First Impressions

TL;DR: if you’re on Ubuntu, use RealVNC.

Hey everybody! I recently discovered and purchased an Organelle M because all my friends have been talking about their recent synth purchases. And although I have been a staunch experimental computer music person for the past 15 years, I decided to look into the most recent offerings – since it seemed to me that the (excessively expensive) analog navel-gazing moment seems to have passed to a certain extent…

I’ve been using Pd for about 15 years, and in the past 7, I’ve used a Raspberry Pi 2B for live performance: wireless controllers, microphone and instrument processing, etc.

I immediately jumped on the Organelle because:

• It’s a compact and portable package that provides just the right amount of physical interface for my needs that I never really got around to building for myself on the Pi
  • orac – yet another one of those things I always wanted but was too lazy or distracted to do myself. Typically, I’d create a script for each gig to launch pd instances, including a networking patch to connect them to osc/midi messages/each other as needed

So as this sort of dev-oriented user, here is what I had to adjust to since yesterday:

• the file system is read-only by default, and for good reason
  • but I wanted to use the Organelle in a specific way that required a lot of reconfiguring
  • specifically I was used to patching directly on the pi from my ubuntu laptop via X11, which I prefer to VNC because it essentially moves the gui rendering overhead to the more powerful machine, and is typically visually sharper and more responsive
  • i could not get X11 to work
  • i also couldn’t get regular VNC to work using 3 different Ubuntu VNC clients (Remmina, TigerVNC, and some other lesser-known thing)
  • finally I tried to X11 and VNC from my Mac. X11 failed in the same way as before. Screen Sharing app didn’t work for VNC. Finally I downloaded RealVNC and it worked.