Eyesy Test Harness for PC

Someone asked this on the patchstorage discord and I was hoping it would get more visibility here. Is anyone aware of a test harness for rapid prototyping of eyesy modes?

Looking for a fast way to implement on the PC without having to bounce to hardware.

I’ve looked through the manuals and done some searching but either there’s not one readily available or I have completely missed it.

I have not heard of one, but this would be extremely useful! I was thinking it would be relatively easy to make one, but I just started learning python for Eyesy so I’m sure I won’t be the first to make it. There aren’t that many things that are going on behind the curtain, so an approximation of those functions would probably be enough to be usable.

@okyeron may have something along those lines. I know he was using something other than Eyesy hardware to test the oF modes he’s working on.

I don’t have much to suggest on the Python side unfortunately.

I’m doing all my oF dev on a RasPi or EYESY itself.

The main things you’re missing are the sound inputs (which might need to be configured differently on a PC) and knob inputs - although those can be emulated with OSC

I found a lead, KP Kaiser on youtube had some cool tutorials for the ETC, and the last he briefly talked about a test program. There’s a link to all of his code in the video description, and I think it would do exactly what we’re hoping for (even control knobs with your keyboard!), but I am not experienced enough with python and am not understanding how he is able to type the two file names and BOOM it’s running. I’m using pycharm and I’m on windows and maybe it’s different enough between the two?
Can one of you wizzes get this working? (and then give me a hint on what I’m not understanding)

2 Likes

I got it working thanks to mitcheo’s find! Here were my steps.
Go to KP Kaiser’s github, there’s a link to it on the webpage in the video description.