New to Pure Data, need help figuring out some logic

Hey there,
I’m fairly new to programming and to Pure Data. I’ve been playing with a sequencer I made from a YouTube tutorial and I’ve been using Floss Manuals to work on some stuff like additive synthesis & other wave-shaping effects. I’m going on tour in 12 days, and I’ve challenged myself to edit a patch to be tailor-made for playing a line in one of my songs. The Analog Style synth patch has a sound that’s perfect for what I want, so I’ll define what I want to change in terms of that patch. The part I’m playing has a pedal tone (G) on the lower octave, and basically alternates every eighth note between that pedal tone and a melody played up above. I want to be able to record this sequence & loop it, so I can just play guitar along with it, so the built-in sequencer will serve my purposes just fine (it’s a short loop - would be 16 or 32 notes, and only 15 or so seconds). I also want it to play in terms of concert pitch at all times. So here’s a breakdown of what I want to change:

• I’d like to make the patch monophonic, with priority placed on the upper key. This way, I can simply hold down the pedal tone & tap out the upper melody without both notes playing.
  • Recording (sequencing) would ideally be done with the footswitch - pretty sure this is already the standard.
  • Knob 1, instead of controlling Hz adjustment, should control either octave selection (notched, so that every 1/4 of the knob or so, the MIDI transposes +12 from its prior value - this function implemented across 3 octaves on the Mellowtron patch, but I’d want 4), and the lowest note should still be within audible range (maybe the C below a guitar’s low E?).