Orac as a pedalboard

Is there a way to use Orac as a pedalboard for incoming audio? I know it’s possible to manipulate effects in the chain by hopping around with key presses, but is there a way to trigger individual effects in the chain via footswitch? I’ve been using Orac regularly for a few months now, but only in its self contained, vanilla form. This is my first venture into running guitar into it and it would be awesome to have a setup with a few effects to trigger via footswitch as opposed to a constant stream of effects, or clumsily trying to play guitar and shortcuts on the Organelle at once.

It’s definitely possible. You’ll need some kind of MIDI foot controller to do it however and probably need to mess around with Pure Data to get it set up. I use a Blackstar MIDI Pro Logic personally for use with my looper program but you may want to opt for a bigger one.

I think Orac has ways of dealing with program changes directly so you can scroll through different programs but there is usually not a bypass option built in most patches so you will need to code that in. Luckily, it’s pretty straight forward. I can provide an example of how you can parse MIDI CC messages for use in Pure Data if that would be helpful.

That would be awesome to see examples for a bypass option. I’ve just gotten so used to the fx modules on Orac that it would be too time consuming (and expensive) to recreate them with individual physical pedals, but for the sake of performing it would be nice to trigger fx individually.

I thought of this after seeing someone using a norns with a super basic 4 switch midi controller, but the Blackstar option looks nice and substantial. I really appreciate the guidance, thank you!

1 Like

What effects are you mostly using? I’ll show an option with one of them and hopefully it should apply nicely to the others

I’m a fan of good ol Slicer and Clds. The prospect of this working is really exciting, I really appreciate it.

1 Like