Organelle as 0-coast midi controller

Hi all,

I’m new to all these wires and connections - mine are all crossed right now and I’m not making any progress here on my own.

I’d like to use an Organelle to control an 0-coast. It seems like it should be pretty straightforward but maybe I’m not even starting in the right place.

I think I have the right cables… So far, I’ve connected the devices with grounded TRS cables and TRS midi-adapter cables with 5-pin midi cable in between. Either way there was no sound output. I don’t have a midi-hub so I can’t test this connection, but I’m also not sure that would solve the problem anyways.

After an afternoon trying various arrangements of cables and settings tinkering to no effect, I’m wondering if I actually understand how midi functions at all. Maybe someone could recommend a basic introduction?

The most I’ve been able to do so far is use the Organelle as an effects processor for the 0-Coast. That’s interesting but has it’s limits. I feel like the pairing could produce more interesting results if I could send midi from the 0-Coast to the Organelle (or do I have the backwards?).

Any advice, orientation, or research resources would be very much helpful. Thank you!

this page explains the MIDI mini TRS connections. Basically you need to connect mini TRS cable from MIDI Out of Organelle to MIDI In of 0Coast. Mini TRS cable is a fancy way to say any stereo cable with mini jacks. After that you have to make sure that both instruments are on the same MIDI channel.

It’s not you, it’s the synth manufactures. 10y ago everybody used DIN jacks and MIDI was simple (well errr simpler). Now I have 5 different MIDI standards in my tiny studio space and I have to be the wizzard to know what works with which cable.

Welcome to the forum.

1 Like

In this configuration:

1. Which Organelle patch were you using?