Organelle Questions

Hello everyone! I’m a trumpet and piano player looking to make music in a portable piece of hardware that can make a full track on its own. This is going to be my first foray into electronic music hardware (but I have worked with DAWs before), and I’m excited! I am looking at getting an Organelle for this, but I have a few questions, and I could use a bit of advice:

1. I know there are sequencers for the Organelle, but are they limited to only looping 16 (or something) steps? Can you make multiple 16 step sequences and combine them to make a longer loop (I think I’ve seen something like this in one of the Pocket Operators)
  2. In general, what would be the process of making a whole tune on the Organelle (suppose, a jazz backing track that I could improvise over with a lead synth); I assume Orac with sequencers and loopers (or maybe an external looper pedal)?
  3. I’ve looked into things like Axoloti, but I’m not really a programming/computer expert, so I kinda ruled that out. The only other thing I’ve seen that looks pretty good (and in a comparable price range), although very different, is the op-z. Any thoughts on that compared to Organelle?

Thanks for any knowledge and advice, I really appreciate it!

1. There are several sequencers for the organelle and they have different behaviors. Seq 2 and the newer Seq 3 are not locked to steps but there is also no quantization internally, these sequences can be really long (I’m not sure what the limit is but I haven’t hit it yet). Seq 3 allows overdubbing and undo for the last recording. Other sequencers available are more playful. Polybeats, for example, lets you trigger different notes at different time signatures and you can get some really complex interweaving rhythms going.

2. Other people might have some interesting ways of using the organelle for making tunes. I imagine there are several approaches. I’ve had the most luck with 2 methods: