A few random beginners questions

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

In the coming weeks I will be receiving my very own Organelle. I’ve been getting so excited looking at the crazy list of user-made patches, there’s just so much exciting stuff to dive into! I just have a few scattered thoughts/questions which I didn’t know where to put, so I have selfishly made my own thread.

1. Is it possibly to simultaneously use the Organelle as a sound processor and synth? The idea I have in mind is to use one chain of Orac as an fx processor for my voice etc, while another chain could be sequencing and creating other sounds from within the Organelle, is this something that is possible? (btw Orac looks like the best thing ever).

2. Is there a consensus around here for what’s the best pairings to the Organelle for extra knobbidge? The Midi Fighter Twister looks promising.

3. I’m just starting to dip my toes into Pure Data, is this a recommended place to start for a complete beginner to coding? So far it’s all feeling a bit overwhelming and a bit like a lost cause, especially considering how much great content is already available on the Organelle…

yeah, you can do that with orac. you just have to watch the cpu load if you’re using both a poly synth and a lot of fx, because it becomes easy to max out the cpu. Afa more control I got the korg nanokontrol bc it’s known to work and it’s cheap/portable. Knobs on it I think are good, faders less good, but still… o.k.

Pure data while I myself am just beginning to understand it (I’m pretty much a complete beginner to coding too) is just a very powerful tool. You might have a patch that does everything you want, except for one thing. Often, you can often add that one thing to it, it’s just a matter of knowing how.

2 Likes