Melody Mill 1V/Octave output problem

Hello everybody, I’m new here! :slight_smile: I’ve got a Melody Mill a few days ago and everything seems to work fine, only the 1V/Octave output is always high, no matter what I’m doing/changing/pressing or have it running with the sequencer (I measured 10.47 Volts). the Rectangle output on the right works fine and reacts to all the knob and keyboard changes/information. Also Gate and Trigger output works perfectly.

I have a Doepfer PSU 2 with the Doepfer 5 V Adapter on.

Any ideas what could be the problem in this case?

Thanks for any Help!
Regards,
Jerome

I just observed the circuit board and saw that there is no capacitor on position C13. Can anyone take a look on his/her melody mill and confirm if this is normal or did I loose this one on my pcb? if so, are there any schematics out or does anyone know the value of this capacitor?

I’m not an super expert, but I followed the trace coming out of the bit stm32 chip going to the tip of the rectangle output jack via a smd resistor (R24). Between tip of the jack and the resistor, the signal goes to ground via a smd capacitor (C13) - what I’m missing on my pcb.

Thanks for any help!
Cheers,
Jerome

C13 should not be a problem… It is a filter cap for the square wave output, and it might never have been installed anyway.

There is small trim pot you can use to adjust the 1V/oct scale, you could try turning it with a small screw driver and see if it changes at all. When you say it is always high do you mean it is never changing? This might indicate another problem / damaged component.

Hey @oweno thanks for your quick response! I tried the 1V/oct adjustment trim pot but still the same output of 10.47V. It’s never changing, no matter what I do, it’s constantly 10.47V.

So the 1V/oct signal is coming out of the LM358, could there be a problem? I’m able to measure or change a damaged component, but I don’t really know where to search / measure.