Orac 2.0 Wiki

Recently @Thetechnobear started a Wiki on the GitHub repository for Orac:

The purpose of this is to have a centralized place for Orac documentation. I have started on entering a few unfinished entries and creating a general page structure, but I am new to Orac and the Organelle and would appreciate more experienced contributions from the community.

If you do decide to help with this project, let’s use this thread to specify what pages you are working on, ask questions, make suggestions, or report significant changes regarding the Orac wiki. Hopefully in near future we can have some detailed documentation available for Orac users and reduce the need for Q&A in the forums.

Thanks!

6 Likes

Thanks for working on this, I think it will be a huge help for people. We’ll try to fill in some stuff from our end too. Also would be good to have a chapter for developers including a reference of Orac messages, advanced topics, etc…

3 Likes

I agree that would be nice, i feel a bit lost when patching for Orac because i learned PD basics mostly with factory patches, a list of differences would be useful for learning (especially about sending text/values/graphics to the screen). :slight_smile:

1 Like

Good idea! I added a new page called “Developer FAQ” and changed “FAQ” to “User FAQ” for disambiguation.

2 Likes

Ok, Ive added quite a bit of content…including resources on faqs, list of modules, and also some information on the slots types.

its far from complete, but at least as a starting point

please feel free to edit and contribute its your wiki :wink:

note:
modules, Ive put the ‘factory modules’ under a separate heading, so other developers are free to add links to their own 3rd party modules if they wish. (as separate heading in appropriate section)
please keep it to one line, and then create a separate page if you want to include more details (see the router page for an example of how to do this!)

4 Likes