Organelle as a polyphonic/chromatic sampler for live use?

Hi,

Thinking of getting a keyboard sampler for live use. Thinking Organelle M might be an ideal choice but not sure yet? Ideally I could cycle through different presets during a live show and play polyphonically with a midi keyboard, with a different sample streched across the keyboard on different presets. And ADSR and effects as well. Would this be possible using ORAC and Nori Mod (or a different patch)?

I don’t have much experience with Pure Data, but I’m an experienced programmer in a different language, and would be excited to learn it. I would hope there’d be existing patches that could meet my needs to start with though.

Thanks in advance for any insights, and happy new year.

i think the first question is… why use the Organelle rather than a dedicated sampler?

there are sample playback patches and modules (for orac), but they will (by definition) be more limited than a dedicated instrument, these cover things like individual samples per note, or stretching a single sample - but I’m not sure there is a sampler that’s supports layering, or using complex multi-samples

also not sure if there are patches that can re-pitch without changing length - its possible but computationally more expensive.

also perhaps compared to some samplers the amount of ram may be a limited.

BUT… the organelle excels where you want to do things that are not covered by a conventional sampler, where you want to start mixing things up.

so back to first question…

sure it can cover this area,
and if you are an experienced programmer and want to send time on playing in this area it could be for you, as you can extend to do as you want… exactly how much you can do (e.g. sample playback + effects ) is obviously then down to resources (cpu/memory) available.

Thanks!