SP404-style long sample playback

Hi,

Just discovered the Organelle through some videos online and it seems absolutely incredible.
I’m wondering about the ability of the Organelle to playback long samples like the SP404.
My band currently use that for playing back some pre-recorded music as part of our live set but I’m beginning to think that this could replace it (and much more!).

Would it be simple to set up a patch to be able to do that? Also would it be possible to have a long sample playback continuously while using the organelle for other processes at the same time? For example, sampler, FM synth, VA synth etc…

I’ve no experience of programming Pd so not sure what the limitations are but, if I’m understanding is correct, only imagination is the limit, which is a pretty exciting prospect!

Thanks in advance

Lewis

1 Like

I am also really curios about this as well, like assigning long .wavs to a bunch of keys and triggering playback! I was thinking you could try the sample player sketch that Critter & Guitari have on the site and try replacing the .wav files in the folder with your own longer files…

I dont have the Organelle yet but have been messing around with mother patch (simulates organelle on your comp) and some of the presets loaded in…Like you I have no PD knowledge at all, or any programming knowledge to be honest, but Im finding it to have an easy learning curve.

As to your other question of “simultaneous patches” you can do that in pure data on the computer but the organelle probably has more limited cpu that gets used up faster, also the interface isnt programmed to allow for loading multiple patches, I saw in another thread somebody mentioning attaching a separate screen with the hdmi port and using it to navigate other patches so you can have multi stuff, but you still might run out of processing power kind of fast…