Stoked

got setup today with usb wifi, syncing with ableton link, and jamming on the modular with it.
now i just gotta learn me some PD. looking into tutorial videos and stuff…any pointers on what to start with? i have some experience with max msp, and a huge amount with modular synthesis. so far, watching videos everything seems very close to max msp.

anyways, really stoked on all these wonderful patches!!!

3 Likes

if you know max/msp its very similar
(just make sure you use triggers, like max… as the default execution order is different)

main thing , I found, was getting used to new objects, you could use Cyclone (which gives you many max objects), but I preferred to ‘tough it out’ initially, just so i had a better understanding what was in PD Vanilla (organelle only has vanilla on it, not extended)

(somewhere there is a document, called something like ‘PD for max programmers’ … or similar :wink: )

I think best approach initially is to do a combo of, building your own basic patches, and extending existing ones.
when extending, start with simple goals, and simple patches, some of C&Gs early patches (basic poly) are great examples.

once you are happy with the basics, I highly recommend you look at some of C&G later patches, the ones that allow you to change FX etc. (like 1008) - these are a little complex to understand initially BUT they are extremely well structured, and flexible … if you can learn how to patch within that ‘framework’ , you will be really happy with the results :slight_smile:
(note: depending on your previous max/msp experience, time ,inclination this may or may not be a bit ambitious)

overall, like all programming… just get stuck in, save frequently … you only learn by doing… :slight_smile:

2 Likes

welcome man.
check out these videos C&G did:

1 Like

@wannop @thetechnobear