Organelle for Drummers?

Anyone want to collaborate on some patches an electronic drummer could use?! I have tons of ideas but here’s just one:

I’m not a PD programmer - although I am a software programmer and drummer. But I started a simple POC in PD years ago and the premise seemed totally feasible.

What made me dust the idea off today was seeing this product announced. It’s close to what I’ve been thinking about for years, but could be SO much better on an organelle: http://artificialnoise.ca/key_control.html

The idea is to use the Organelle as a midi note remapper that would go between a module like a Roland vdrum module and an external synth set to a melodic patch.

How a drummer would use this is to trigger melodic tones from his pads, without having to change the drum module’s note number assignments (which is deep in the menus on most drum modules). I do this a lot and it’s laborious and each combo takes up a patch, which is surprisingly limited on most modules. And since a patch is note# configs + internal sounds, if you want change these independently, you need to copy the patch. Further, changing note assignments messes up the mapping with drum VST’s. So a re mapper makes total sense. Also most drummers are not knowledgeable about scales.

So an Organelle based evolution of the Artfulnoise device would be to use the organelle keyboard to set the key instead of a rotary knob. It should even be possible to capture scales using key combos like pressing C + D# to put it in c minor scale. And going in and out of Key/Chord choosing mode could be done with a footswitch or the Aux button.

The cool thing a drummer can then do is layer melodic tones with the drum module’s sounds and play both rhythmically AND melodically. This is a lot of fun. I can’t even tell you how often this makes me late for work.