PD question(s) in the 201

as more patches come out for the 201, I’m wishing for more synth mode slots. and since I use the patterns much less, I thought I’d poke around in pd to see what I could figure out.
My idea is to make the new 12 keys be 3 patterns and 9 synth modes.

I got the synth mode slots re-mapped on the keyboard, so that synth 1 is on the low F, where pattern 4 was. all six synth modes work perfectly in their new locations, and there are now just 3 pattern modes on the far left in their original slots.

I can’t get the far right 3 white keys (original synth slots 4-6) to do anything with more synth patches, labeled 7- 8- 9-, and with a few other relevant changes to reflect the new situation, at least where it was obvious to me. I’m wondering if there is a deeper limitation in the firmware that prevents this from working, or if someone might have an idea where to look for PD tweaks that would help.

I’m very new to the pd part - I’ve been waiting for the thing that comes up with organelle or 201 that would make me want to get in there and change something, and here I am.

1 Like

I think you have to reassign keys in synth select - the keys have the numbers 0 - 19:

Basically this should work when you add 5, 7 and 9 in the sel object, then reassign message boxes from 1 to 9.

Here’s what I had done the other day before I posted:

same as you suggested in synth-select.

copied and pasted to add 3 more in “auto-load-synths”

I disconnected 3 of the patterns in pattern-select:

although maybe unnecessary, i made a change to the leds->synth-leds, just copied one to add three more to light them up, even if they’d be the same as the one I duplicated.

This last one is in the “lib” folder, called “synth-slot”, which sounds or seems like it could be a place to look for something that needs a tweak, but if so, I can’t tell what it would be or how to do it.