Status of SuperCollider?

I’m a SuperCollider veteran looking to spend less time on laptops. So exciting to see the recent post about SC coming pre-installed on Organelle OS v4.0! The thought of porting my SC stuff to PD is the only thing holding me back from picking up an Organelle-M. Strangely, I haven’t seen any talk on sc-user or sc-dev from people using the organelle yet. Maybe they’re just being quiet…? Having worked with SC for many years, I know that it can be a bit “wild” and moving between platforms is rarely straight forward. I’ve read everything I could find here and took a look at the example code on Patchstorage. Sounds like SC on Organelle-M might not be ready quite yet?

I get that this a work-in-progress by organelle users, but is there any additional info about what is/isn’t available to an SC user who doesn’t get as deep as a low level recompile? What is the plan for what it will do out of the box? MIDI implementation for the new ports? A relatively complete set of working ugens? Pushing graphics out to the OLED screen with the lang/UI classes? Will the server on the organelle just pick up OSC messages from another lang on the wifi network and run with them? I have sooo many questions! I just don’t have quite enough confidence to place an order yet…

Thanks in advance for pointing me in the right direction!

3 Likes

I discovered a small issue ‘late in the day’ with the organelle-m install of supercollider - basically it needs to be recompiled to work without a monitor attached.
The organelle-1 is ok, which is what caught me out !

It’s relatively easy to create a build for this and/or fix a later release.

As for the status for interactions - in 3.1 (?) the changes were made to mother host to launch supercollider patches from the menu.
I also created examples which show how to interact with the pots and the display. But there ( for whatever reason) was not much interest, and I didn’t have a lot of time to spend doing further examples.