Testing Self-made TRS-MIDI cable with Organelle M

Hi,
I’m new to organelle, just got an organelle M. I want to tempo synch via midi (got a midi clock comming into the TRS midi input). I made up the cable myself (MIDI to TRS type A) but nothing seems to be happening. Does anyone know a standard test (e.g. name of patch that def responds to midi clock sync) so I can work out if its cable or something else.

Many thanks

Some straightforward patches with a BPM aspect to try: Arpeggio Synth, Pow Pow Polybeats, Euclidean Rhythms, Sampler Style.

Any C&G patch with a BPM control will work. If a C&G patch doesn’t have a BPM element, the patch will not utilize MIDI Clock if it is present.

Thanks, that’s great. Still no midi clock from TRS midi socket but I tried USB midi as a test and that works With the patches you suggested.

Cable tests are good so not sure why can’t get clock via trs. Anyone out there done this with orgM?

Any tips/tricks? I selected midi in on midi setup page but nothing, plug in usb midi and select usb midi on setup and clock is good.

Just confirmed that MIDI clock syncs both in and out via the TRS ports using my home made cables. It’s not the most stable clock coming in, but it works. I haven’t adjusted any settings. Maybe double check your cables? Let me know if I can verify anything for you. :slight_smile:

Thanks fwwm, I made up a new cable (despite the previous one testing good for continuity) and now i have midi sync, of sorts. Its very unstable. I set clock in to be 100bpm and the organelle drifts between 99 and 120bpm. I set it to 120bpm and it drifts between 119 ans 144bpm. This is all in the metronome patch.

Switch to arpeggio synth and things go bonkers will wildly unstable bpm varying accross a range of thousands.

Then unplug the midi cable and still arpeggio synth wildly oscillating. Only way i have found to get back to “normal” is pluf USB midi in, change settings to pick that up and then unplug it. Back to stability.